Tag Archives: setting

Five Tip Friday ~ Reminders, settings and Time Machine on macOS


1/ Reminders on Macs, iPhones, and iPads help you remember anything — Easy to manage, use, and share; always available, and (best of all), there’s nothing new to buy or learn. You can use your Apple devices to remember everything using just some of the apps and services already installed on your Mac and iDevices: the Calendar and Reminders apps, plus Siri. When you need to remember something, ask Siri (on your Mac, iPhone, or Apple Watch) to remind you of that thing at a specific time and date. The item is then recorded on the Inbox list in Reminders . Then, you’ll be reminded (with an onscreen alert and sound) at the appropriate date and time. Brilliant!

2/ Location-based reminders — Siri knows where you live, so say, “Hey Siri. Remind me to charge the eBike when I get home.” Then, when you arrive at your house, you’ll get an alert on your phone or watch saying ‘Upload your column’ (or whatever). [These two tips came from the Mac Observer.]
But does Siri know where you live? Open the Settings app on your iPhone or iPad.
Scroll down and tap Siri. Tap My Info and select your own contact card.

3/ Enable apps at log-in on macOS High Sierra — If there are certain apps you’ll always use the moment you start up your Mac, you can set them up to automatically log-in via System Preferences in macOS High Sierra (and it’s the same for previous versions of macOS, for that matter).
Go to Users, make sure your own user account is highlighted on the left, then click Login Items. Click the + and you can choose an app, file server or pretty much anything else that should open when you log into, or start up, your Mac. Once you’ve added something, you can use the checkboxes to opt to hide it, though it will still be running in the background, thus instantly available.

4/ Add other notes to the Notes app —You can take the notes that you’ve created in other apps, and import them into the Notes app in macOS Sierra. When you import notes, you can add them to your iCloud notes account or your On My Mac account. If you store them in iCloud, you can automatically see all of your notes on any device where you’re signed in with your Apple ID:
Open your Notes app.
Choose to store your notes in iCloud or On My Mac. Click a folder in the account that you want to use.
In the menu bar, click File > Import.
Select the file or folder that you want to import. If the notes that you’re importing are organized in folders, click Options in the lower-left corner to keep them organized.
Click Import. When you see a confirmation message, click Import again.
After your notes import, you’ll see a new folder in the Notes app called Imported Notes. Then you can organise them into any Notes folder that you want.

5/ Remove a Time Machine backup disk — If you back your computer up to multiple drives using Time Machine, you may be familiar with the notification that tells you that you haven’t been backed up in [insert long amount of time here]. You see, if you’ve configured more than one Time Machine disk, your Mac will take turns backing up to each of them when they’re plugged in or connected over your network; you’ll get the warning when one of your disks hasn’t been used for a while, even if the other backups are working fine.
The solution to that is of course to plug in the missing backup and let it run, but what if you no longer own the drive in question? Or if it failed or got run over by a giant chicken or something? To stop Time Machine from warning you about the lost backup drive, you’ll need to remove it from the preferences on your Mac, which is luckily darned easy. To get going with this and stop those pop-ups, start by clicking Time Machine’s circle-clock icon in your menu bar and picking “Open Time Machine Preferences.”
If you don’t see the circle-clock near the top-right of your screen, you can instead use the Apple Menu to open System Preferences then click Time Machine. Whichever way you get there, though, the Time Machine preference pane has the option to remove a disk under the “Select Disk” button.
Within that section, you’ll find your list of backup disks at the top. Click the one you want to get rid of, and then choose Remove Disk.