Rogue One and the Mac, Yahoo’s ‘security’, Cook by Trump


rogue-one-jyn-erso-geared-up-100699061-large

How Rogue One: A Star Wars Story is connected to the Mac — John Knoll is chief creative officer at Industrial Light & Magic (ILM), the division of LucasFilm that has been a leader in creating special effects for decades. ILM is responsible for the special effects in Rogue One. But beyond his role as a leader at ILM, John Knoll is the executive producer of Rogue One, and the film’s story is credited to him.
When Disney bought LucasFilm and announced it would be making annual Star Wars films, including ones that weren’t the continuation of the story from Return of the Jedi, Knoll pitched an idea he had that had its origins in the opening crawl of the original 1977 Star Wars. But there’s more … the fellow who came up with the story for this year’s Star Wars movie also happens to be the co-creator of Photoshop.

Yahoo’s billion account breach: 5 things you should do to stay safe — Internet giant Yahoo announced another massive data breach Wednesday that affected over one billion accounts, making it by far the largest data breach in history. This follows the disclosure in September of a different breach that affected more than 500 million of the company’s customers. Yahoo, of course, supplies email services to New Zealand’s Xtra, although Xtra is moving to a New Zealand provider (thank goodness!).
What stands out with this new security compromise is that it occurred over three years ago, in August 2013, and that hackers walked away with password hashes that can be easily cracked.
The massive data breach can be an opportunity to do some cleanup and implement security recommendations. Mac Observer has some security tips too.

Apple’s Tim Cook takes close seat to Donald Trump at tech summit — As anticipated, Apple CEO Tim Cook was among a number of tech executives who attended a summit with US President-Elect Donald Trump on Wednesday, securing a close seat on the 25th floor of Trump Tower in New York City.
“There’s nobody like the people in this room, and anything we can do to help this go along we’re going to do that for you,” Trump told the executives, according to the Associated Press. “You call my people, you call me, it doesn’t make any difference. We have no formal chain of command.” [So God help us.]
Trump attacked Apple during his election campaign, arguing it should bring manufacturing back to the US, and calling on supporters to boycott the company over its refusal to write a backdoor into the iPhone of San Bernardino shooter Syed Rizwan Farook.

2 thoughts on “Rogue One and the Mac, Yahoo’s ‘security’, Cook by Trump”

  1. Hi Mark, I just did what you said in the security piece and set the security vault to on. Viola, my computer is a brick. I cannot open it with my password it just does not want to accept my apple password and I DO NOT want to change my password when it asks me if I forgot my password because I have not forgot it. I tried 3 times and am afraid it will lock if I try more times. What the H do I do now? We are away on holiday soon and I still need to do a few things on my computer. I NEED IT. What am I to do except take it to the local apple place to fix. For which I DO NOT HAVE TIME.

    Cheers Annemarie Beukman

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    1. OMG, sorry, I only just saw this – you’ll get a much faster response if you email me. First of all, I didn’t say to do that, I linked to a site that recommended it. Mac NZ news is links to other people’s sites. Your best bet is to call 0800 MYAPPLE and let Apple techs sort you out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

