Five Tip Friday ~ iOS 8 security and privacy tips.


iOS 8 is now on 60% of all iDevices, and the 8.1.1 update ironed out all sort of problems and made it work properly on iPhone 4s, so here are some excellent tips for the Operating System.

Turn this on to have your iPhone or iPad send its last location as its battery dies.
Turn this on to have your iPhone or iPad send its last location as its battery dies.

1/ Using ‘Send Last Location’ — A  new security feature embedded in iOS 8 is called Send Last Location. This feature, when turned on, tell Apple where your device is right before its battery dies (assuming it has a Wi-Fi or cellular connection), so if someone’s taken it or it’s been lost, you can see where it last reported in. But this isn’t on by default. To turn it on, visit Settings iCloud on your iOS device, scroll down and touch Find My [Device].
Once you’ve done that, you should see the “Send Last Location” toggle. Your device will transmit its location as its battery is dying, possibly helping you recover what’s been stolen — or what’s hiding under your living room couch.

2/ Turn off Geo-Stamping of your photos — when you take pictures with your iPhone, you can see (in iPhoto and the Preview app, for example) exactly where that photo was taken on a map. Great for you, but what if you send that picture to someone else? It could be passed on hundreds of times – which means hundreds of people can do the same thing and see exactly where your lounge is when you took that picture of your big, shiny new TV or whatever. Or your kids … If you don’t want your photos populated with GPS coordinates in the EXIF data, go to Settings, choose Privacy, tap Location services, and turn them off for Camera. You can turn it back on any time.

3/ Control which apps access your Private Data — Some iOS apps need to access your personal data: a special camera app may want to access your camera roll; Skype may want to access all your contacts etc.
The iOS Setting for this is Settings>Privacy. At the top of this screen, ‘Location Services’ goes off to another page where you can define which apps get to know your location. 
If you tap on Contacts, you’ll be shown a list of apps that have asked for access to your Contacts list.
If you, at one time, granted access, say, when the app first launched, this is the place to revoke it. From time to time, the app may ask permission again. Apple places a limit on how many times a developer may pester you about that:  grant permission on an as-needed basis.
It’s probably a good idea to step through every app in that list and note which apps have been granted (or denied) access to your data.

Hide4/ Keep personal photos out of collections with iOS 8’s ‘hide photo’ feature — Apple’s ‘Collections’ feature for photos in iOS helps you keep track of memories and easily presents them when it’s time to show off: photos are automatically sorted into smart groups based on the time and location they were taken, making it a breeze to quickly find every picture you’ve taken in Florida or during December. But there may be pictures you want to keep, yet don’t want people to see. Let’s call them ‘personal’ photos.
iOS 8 makes keeping your personal photos out of your Collections quick and easy, in two quick steps: locate the photo you want hidden, select it, and hold down your finger on the image.
A hide option pops up. Tap it to confirm you’d like to hide the image.
The hidden image is left out of your Collections folder but it’s still viewable from the Albums portion of the Photos menu.
Now you can rest easy when displaying your Collection over AirPlay during the Holidays. If you take care to hide the right (or wrong, depending on your perspective) images, your family never has to know what you really did at the office Christmas party…

5/ Hide App Store purchases — Users who have enabled Family Sharing can also hide App Store purchases more easily in iOS 8. Previously, users had to launch iTunes on their Mac or PC to do this. But with iOS 8, users can hide purchases directly within the App Store application: choose the Updates menu and tap Purchased. If you have Family Sharing enabled, choose ‘My Purchases’ and downloaded applications — both free and paid — are listed. These can be sorted by ‘All’ or those ‘Not on This iPhone’.
Simply swipe an app to the right to display the red ‘HIDE’ option. Tapping this removes the application from the Purchased view. Easy.